Graduation & Awards Ceremony 2019

On Friday 8 November staff, students, friends and family gathered to celebrate the achievements of our students. Guests were welcomed with an address from Principal and Chief Executive, Dr. Nigel Leigh OBE, who, in a break with normal tradition, also shared some personal reflection on what will be his last awards ceremony. He talked about the future of the college in light of the proposed merger with Brooksby Melton College and welcomed Dawn Whitemore, the Designate CEO and Principal of the new proposed entity. Nigel reflected on his 12 years with the College and his feelings that during this time a modern college has been produced that is appropriate to inhabit the industry standard facilities that we have here in Coalville.

Following the welcoming address, Simon Kibble, Director of Quality and Development, proceeded with the graduation ceremony where every student was called up to stage to be presented with their scroll from Dr Nigel Leigh OBE. Simon then turned to the awards section of the ceremony where a number of outstanding students were recognised for their academic excellence and contribution to the College with a gift and a framed certificate.

Congratulations go to all our graduates and award winners and special thanks to those that have helped contribute to their success. Things are seldom achieved alone and we are aware of the support, encouragement and sometimes sacrifice made by loved ones, friends and colleagues to help our recipients of awards achieve their goals. We wish all our students the very best for the future.

The award winners on the night were:

Construction & Professional Care Industries Student of the Year

Anya Grainger


Technical Professional Services Student of the Year

Lindsey Webster


Maths & English Student of the Year

Lily Bray


National Federation of Builders Award

Jack Blockley


Carl Bampton Award

Stephen Bailey-Thornley


George Hern Trust Award

Danny Hinds


Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community

Olivia Olsson


Outstanding Contribution to the College Community

Jashandeep Singh


Apprentice of the Year

Jodie Bradford


Chairs Award

Denise Thorogood


Student of the Year

Anya Grainger