A proud contingent of graduates descended upon our Coalville campus on Friday 1st December for the college’s annual Graduation and Awards Ceremony.

Attendees were welcomed to the ceremony with an address from Principal and Chief Executive Dr. Nigel Leigh OBE before guest speaker Jenifer Burden of the Gatsby Charitable Foundation gave a short speech on the future of technical eductation, Director of Quality Simon Kibble then proceeded to host the ceremony.

Those studying a range of higher education courses were recognised throughout the night, each graduate was called up onto the stage for a special moment of recognition where they received their traditional graduation scroll from Dr. Leigh OBE and posed for an official photograph.

Following the graduation portion of the evening a number of outstanding students were recognised with awards for their academic excellence being awarded a congratulatory gift and framed certificate.

All of us here at Stephenson College would like to congratulate all of our 127 of our graduates who completed their courses this year along with the 12 award winners.

The award winners on the night were as follows:

Creative Services Student of the Year – Noorshad Sinwari

Motor Vehicle & Engineering Student of the Year – Lewis Bain

Construction Student of the Year – Al Amin

Maths & English Student of the Year – Grig Malcolm

National Federation of Builders Award – Daniel Wilkins

Carl Bampton Award – Joliene Burford

George Hurn Trust Award – Thomas McMaster

Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community – Daniel Wilkins

Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community – Central Midlands Cooperative

Apprentice of the Year – Tim Johnston

Outstanding Student of the Year – Joliene Burford